Paleo Walnut Figgy Coconut Bites

So last night I was in cooking mode. I decided I was going to make Chile Rellenos & Pantacones – both turned out pretty good…the patacones were great little treats and the rellenos were good but I made them without the cheese and I really like me some cheese, so I was mildly disappointed. I did make the suggested avocado cream and added a touch of paleo mayo to the mix for good measure, but these still needed a little something else. If you plan to try them, I’d suggest either 1) sucking it up and making it with the cheese, it’s not going to kill you OR 2) adding some sort of enchilada sauce – I plan to come up with an enchilada sauce soon so perhaps I will post that if it turns out ok.

Anyhoo – after dinner I had a bit of a sweet tooth and have been craving some sort of figgy goodness for the past few days. I decided to throw some random things together and came up with these little delightful treats.

Walnut Figgy Coconut Bites

20120202-104048.jpg

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 package figs – with the stems cut off (just the little hard pieces at the end)

1 shot of OJ (no sugar added of course) – you could also use a fresh squeezed orange if you feel better about it

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp almond extract

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1 tbsp coconut oil

Preheat your oven to 350. Then throw everything in a food processor, except the shredded coconut. Get it all nice and mixed up. Turn off the food processor. Take about a spoonful of this goodness and kinda roll it into little barrels and then roll each barrel in the shredded coconut. Place each piece of figgy goodness on to a greased cookie sheet (I used spray coconut oil cause it smells fantastic!). Bake for 10 minutes or until the bottoms get a little toasty. When you take these out of the oven, they will still be soft so I decided to put them on a plate covered with wax paper and throw them in the fridge for about 20 minutes or so. They firmed up nicely and were mighty tasty. They hit the figgy goodness spot I was looking for….I will defintely make these again and might throw some cocoa in them next time for good measure.

Leave a Reply

